Get Involved

FWC

Volunteers are the heart and soul of oyster recycling operations in Florida. Many of the organizations rely heavily on volunteers to pick up shells from participating restaurants, create oyster restoration materials, and deploy the final product into an oyster reef, break water, or living shoreline. Find your county below to learn more about your local oyster recycling project:

Brevard County
Volunteer
  • Brevard Zoo

  • Sammy Anderson, Habitat Restoration Program Manager

    SAnderson@brevardzoo.org

    Flagler County
    Volunteer
  • Guana Tolomato Matanzas NERR

  • Andrea Noel, Northeast Aquatic Preserves Manager

    Andrea.Noel@dep.state.fl.us

    Volunteer
  • Friends of Gamble Rogers State Park

  • Celena Cline, Park Ranger

    Celena.Cline@dep.state.fl.us

    Martin County
    Volunteer
  • Florida Oceanographic Society

  • Vincent Encomio, Director of Scientific Research

    Vencomio@floridaocean.org

    Orange County
    Volunteer
  • University of Central Florida

  • Dr. Linda Walters, Researcher & Pegasus Professor

    Linda.Walters@ucf.edu

    St. Lucie County
    Volunteer
  • Indian River Lagoon Aquatic Preserves

  • Matthew R Anderson, Oyster Reef Coordinator

    Matthew.R.Anderson@dep.state.fl.us

    Volusia County
    Volunteer
  • Marine Discovery Center

  • Jessy Wayles, Shoreline Restoration Coordinator

    Jessy@marinediscoverycenter.org

    Calendar of Events